Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Products » Cameras




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am
Posts: 2170
Image
Dear tester
we just sent all the cameras today
and you can find the driver in our website
http://zwoptical.com/Eng/Software/index.asp

To add support of FC
please upgrade to the latest FC 2.4 beta 5

the normal max speed of camera is 60fps
but we provided an over clocking option, the max over clocking is 30% which is 78fps
this option can only set in "video capture filter" of sharpcap or amcap
you can find it in FC too

please feedback your test result in this thread, its very important to put the info of your laptop and fps you can achieve. its wonderful if you can provide your USB3.0 host chip info

we will list the incompatible USB Host chip in here to help other users to choose laptop.
please try to upgrade the host usb chip driver if our camera won't recongized as USB3.0 device.
intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Search ... Controller

About host selection, you can have a look at this document, we use the same usb chip of demo3:
http://www.aptina.com/Demo3_USB_3.0_Hos ... ection.pdf


tested platform and USB Host controller:
Lenovo IdeaPad Z580 : intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller
MacBook air 2014 : intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller
Dell Inspiron 17-7737 i7 : intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller
HP Pavilion dv7 Notebook PC:intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller
MacBook Pro 2013: intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller
PC:Renesas Electronics USB3.0 Host Controller
PC:AMD USB3.0 Host Controller

PCIE-USB3.0 Card: NEC/Renesas μPD720200A μPD720201 & μPD720202
PCIE-USB3.0 Card: VIA Labs VL800

already know incompatible USB host:
PCIE-USB3.0 Card: NEC/Renesas μPD720200 under windows 8
PCIE-USB3.0 Card: Trendnet TU3-H2PIE card
PC: Etron usb3.0 host controller

_________________
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 5:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:43 am
Posts: 1
Preliminary results on a 2013 MacBook Pro running Windows 7 64 bit under bootcamp (ASI120MM-S):

58 fps at full resolution with Sharpcap

I'll try different resolutions, overclocking, and other capture software as soon as I get a chance.

Jeremy


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:12 am
Posts: 5
Hi everyone!

I have some preliminary feedback on my testing of the ASI120MC-S (compared to the ASI120MM - old model). I have used a Dell XPS Core I5 (4 years old - USB 2)

I tested the camera while imagine the Moon in SharpCap 2.

Dell XPS Core I5:

ASI120MC-S:
1280 x 960 = 22 fps
640x480 = 90 fps

ASI120MM
1280 x 960 = 25 fps
640x480 = 59 fps

I was surprised by the image quality of the ASI120MC-S. When I compare images from both the MM and the MC-S cameras, I can hardly see any difference in picture quality.

I have also intended to test the camera with the following laptop. But I have been unsuccessful for far:
- Dell Inspiron Core I7 (1 year old - USB 3): the camera is recognised by SharpCap but the viewing screen remains grey. I will update the firmware.
- Macbook Air (9 months old - USB 3). oacapture recognises the camera, but the viewing screen remains blank.

I will keep trying and report back.

Cheers,

Eric
+++++

Dell XPS Core I5 specs:

Operating System
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core i5 2410M @ 2.30GHz
Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
RAM
6.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
Dell Inc. 0YR8NN (CPU)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1366x768@60Hz)
1024MB GeForce GT 525M (Dell)
Hard Drives
596GB TOSHIBA MK6461GSY (SATA)


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:42 am
Posts: 3
Here is a link to my feedback .

Clear skyes

Jean-Paul G.

http://uranoscope.free.fr/index.php?201 ... asi120mm-s

http://www.astrosurf.com/ubb/Forum2/HTML/040489.html

http://www.webastro.net/forum/showthread.php?t=119316

Image


Last edited by uranos on Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:45 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:16 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

I have used my ASI120MM-S on a solar Ha rig using AMCap, it worked very well and captured at 60fps with no artifacts or Newton Rings.

Since then I have it working on FireCapture V2.3 capturing at 60 fps for full frame in 8 bit and 29 fps for full frame in 16 bit. Again no artifacts, dropped or blank frames.

Seems to work perfectly.

My PC is an Asus Ultrabook (UX32A), Core i5 @ 1.7GHz with 4GB RAM and 500GB Samsung Evo SSD. It is running Windows 7 64 bit.

USBView says Intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller, Vendor ID 8086, Device ID 1E31. It says the ASI120MM-S supports full-speed, high-speed and super-speed.

All looks good and seems to work perfectly.

Robin


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:42 am
Posts: 3
Hi All,
Overclocking now available with Firecapture 2.05Beta (load 2.04Beta and Update).

U.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 2:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am
Posts: 2170
EricB wrote:
Hi everyone!

I have some preliminary feedback on my testing of the ASI120MC-S (compared to the ASI120MM - old model). I have used a Dell XPS Core I5 (4 years old - USB 2)

I tested the camera while imagine the Moon in SharpCap 2.

Dell XPS Core I5:

ASI120MC-S:
1280 x 960 = 22 fps
640x480 = 90 fps

ASI120MM
1280 x 960 = 25 fps
640x480 = 59 fps

I was surprised by the image quality of the ASI120MC-S. When I compare images from both the MM and the MC-S cameras, I can hardly see any difference in picture quality.

I have also intended to test the camera with the following laptop. But I have been unsuccessful for far:
- Dell Inspiron Core I7 (1 year old - USB 3): the camera is recognised by SharpCap but the viewing screen remains grey. I will update the firmware.
- Macbook Air (9 months old - USB 3). oacapture recognises the camera, but the viewing screen remains blank.


Hi Eric
there is no new firmware of the camera. but you can try to upgrade the driver of your host
also you can try small resolutions
you need to upgrade FC2.4 to beta 05 version to support our cameras
Macbook you need use the oaCapture 0.0.8
http://www.openastroproject.org/wp-cont ... -0.0.8.dmg

_________________
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 2:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am
Posts: 2170
thanks for all your guys feedback

_________________
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:12 am
Posts: 5
Hi everyone,

Thank you Sam. I got the Dell Core i7 (USB3) working and the ASI120MC-S is working fine now on that computer.

I now have a different issue with the DELL Core i5 (USB2). I have been trying to use both the ASI120MM and ASI120MC-S on that laptop to no avail. Since I have installed the driver for the ASI120MC-S, I can no longer use the ASI120MM with SharpCap2 or FireCapture2.2 Beta. The ASI120MC-S, however, works well with both programs. I never had any issue using the ASI120MM on that computer before I used the ASI120MC-S.

SharpCap seems to always select the ASI120MC-S as the default camera. When I select the ASI120MM from the list, I get an "error during preview (0x80040209) message, even if the ASI120MC-S isn't plugged in.

FireCapture is able to initialize the ASI120MM, however, the preview screen remains black and I get a "Severe Error" message (see attachment).

When using the DELL Core i7 (USB3), I can plug in both cameras and image in SharpCap without any problem. I can switch from one camera to the other seamlessly. However, FireCapture doesn't work with the ASI120MC-S.

Interesting to see that 2 DELL computers behave differently. I wonder what the problem is with the Core i5 laptop is.

Cheers,

Eric


Attachments:
FireCapture error.png
FireCapture error.png [ 159.75 KiB | Viewed 21947 times ]
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am
Posts: 2170
HI Eric
you'd better use the latest FC2.4 beta 05
FC2.2 is too old

usb 2.0 is not wide enough to operate 2 cameras at the same time
and ASI120MM may affect if you plugin the ASI120MC-S at the same time

so you can try connect ASI120MM alone and test

_________________
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Board index » Products » Cameras


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: