Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Software » Windows




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:41 pm
Posts: 8
Hello all
Just got the ZWO 1600 cool colour camera.
I cant seem to change the high dynamic range. When I do it always defaults back to HDR.
What am I doing wrong.
Any suggestions

Jim


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:41 pm
Posts: 8
I'm using Maxim dl.
So it's the ascom window that seems to default

Jim


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:41 pm
Posts: 8
Maybe I should explain a little more.
In the ascom settings window I can change gain and offset but when I choose lowest read noise, hit "set" then "ok" but when I re-open the settings window it shows Highest Dynamic Range again.
So my question is : has it changed that setting?


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 1:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am
Posts: 2352
this is because the setting only take effect after you click the set button
these control values will reflect the value you set
and you can change these value by hand
predefined settings cannot reflect these changes
so it always show the default setting

_________________
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 1:24 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:43 am
Posts: 198
The pre-defined setting is only used to provide some value, and your choise can't be remembered and shown. Consider this condition, if you set as "High dynamic range" and then adjust the gain manually, so the value isn't one of provided pre-defined settings.

_________________
ZWO software engineer
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:41 pm
Posts: 8
Ok That makes sense. Thank you for your reply.

By the way this camera is great. I took 30 60 sec. lights of M 31 last night. Best photo I have achieved so far. (HD 11 with Hyperstar)
I have been using the Atik 428. Not sure if I want to keep it now.

Thanks again

Jim


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:51 am
Posts: 2352
jimdrever wrote:
Ok That makes sense. Thank you for your reply.

By the way this camera is great. I took 30 60 sec. lights of M 31 last night. Best photo I have achieved so far. (HD 11 with Hyperstar)
I have been using the Atik 428. Not sure if I want to keep it now.

Thanks again

Jim

thanks Jim
ASI1600 is a giant step from CCD to CMOS, all other manufacture will follow

_________________
ZWO Founder
Location:lon=120.6 lat=31.3
SuZhou China


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ZWO settings
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:46 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks a lot for everything, I love to read about such novelties, a revelation!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Software » Windows


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: